Essex Police Band

Keith's interest in music began at the age of 7 when he learned to play the Euphonium with the Salvation Army. As well as studying Cello and Organ and being a member of the Essex Youth Orchestra, Keith progressed through the Youth Band to become principal Euphonium and Soloist of the Southend Citadel Band and at the age of 17 was appointed conductor of the Youth Band.

For over eleven years Keith conducted bands at summer music schools in Anglia, Coventry, Kent, Essex as well as being guest conductor in schools across Europe where he was responsible for the training of young people in brass playing.

In 1984 Keith relinquished his position as Principle Euphonium of the Southend Citadel Band to "take up the baton" as Bandmaster, a position he held for over 30 years.

Membership of brass bands includes 5 years as a member of the Household Troops Band and 10 years as a member of the International Staff Band, the Salvation Army's premier brass band. During this time he visited many countries including Europe and the USA. Concert work in this country has included annual festivals at the Royal Albert Hall, Royal Festival Hall and two memorable occasions when he was privileged to meet the Queen at Buckingham Palace.

As well as being Musical Director for a number of musicals, Keith has composed and arranged a large number of brass and vocal compositions many of which have been published.

Keith was previously Director of Music of the Essex Police Band for nearly 10 years and returned to take up the baton again in September 2016.

Keith Manners
Keith Manners - Musical Director

Bandmaster Neil Beardsworth

Andrew Norton - Band Secretary
As well as playing Bass Trombone, Andrew is the main contact for the band.
Essex Police Band
PO Box 2
Police Headquarters
Tel: 01245 452327 (Ansafone)
Mobile: 07814 433137
Andrew Norton
Andrew Norton - Band Secretary

Our Members

T-Jay McKenzie
Paul Gridley
Lisa Hurrell
Simon Sanders
Graham Banning
Ted Hawkes
Neil Beardsworth
Bethan Spragg
Phil Davis
Flugel Horn
Graham Hurrell

Wendy Norton
Joy Madigan
Ruth Jones
Philippa Vincent

Paul Webb
David Steven
Mike Jones
Paul Hicks

Peter Butterworth
Michael Spalding
Rob Hall
Dave Spragg
John Waddington
Andy Norton
Steve Banks
Mark Harvey
Nigel Watkinson
Brian Vincent

Louisa McGee
Alex McGee

Copyright 2011-2018 Essex Police Band
Last updated by webmaster on January 13, 2018